Contributor Awards

Best Clinical Article Award

The purpose of this annual award, begun in 2015, is to recognize excellence in writing and evidence of the expansion and/or dissemination of knowledge in the field of orthopedics, as it may be applied to practice. The criteria for selection include a well-written and concise Feature Article offering new insights or expansion of knowledge about a clinical issue; having a practical application for the orthopedic surgeon; and being useful/applicable to a broader number of surgeons/subspecialties.

Articles are identified during the peer review process, and the winner is selected by the Associate Editors and the Editor-in-Chief. Winners receive a plaque and a monetary prize.


2019 — Effect of Acetylsalicylic Acid Dose and Time Discontinued Preoperatively on Outcomes After Total Knee and Hip Arthroplasty by Jonathan H. Shaw, MD; Omar M. Kadri, MD; Clifford M. Les, DVM, PhD; Michael Charters, MD; published in September/October 2019

2018 — Operative Time and Cost Vary by Surgeon: An Analysis of Supracondylar Humerus Fractures in Children by Brendan M. Striano, MD; Christopher M. Brusalis, MD; John M. Flynn, MD; Divya Talwar, MPH; Apurva S. Shah, MD, MBA; published in May/June 2019

2017 — Fracture Severity Based on Classification Does Not Predict Outcome Following Proximal Humerus Fracture by Nina D. Fisher, BS; James M. Barger, MD; Adam S. Driesman, MD; Rebekah Belayneh, BS; Sanjit R. Konda, MD; Kenneth A. Egol, MD; published in November/December 2017

2016 — Short Versus Long Cephalomedullary Nails for Pertrochanteric Hip Fracture by Nicholas B. Frisch, MD, MBA; Nickolas J. Nahm, MD; Jad G. Khalil, MD; Clifford M. Les, DVM, PhD; Stuart T. Guthrie, MD; Michael A. Charters, MD, MS; published in March/April 2017

2015 — Long-term Results of a First-Generation Annealed Highly Cross-Linked Polyethylene in Young, Active Patients by Chitranjan S. Ranawat, MD, Amar S. Ranawat, MD, Alankar A. Ramteke, MS (Orth), Danyal Nawabi, MD, and Morteza Meftah, MD; published in March/April 2016


Lifetime Achievement Award

The purpose of this annual award, begun in 2016, is to recognize an individual’s outstanding contributions to the advancement of Orthopedics during his or her career. The winner is selected by the Associate Editors and the Editor-in-Chief and receives a plaque.


2020 — Panayiotis J. Papagelopoulos, MD, DSc, FACS

2019 — Per Kjaersgaard-Andersen, MD

2018 — Haim Stein, MD, DPhil(Oxon)

2017 — Nabil Ebraheim, MD

2016 — Franklin H. Sim, MD


Sign up to receive

Journal E-contents