Journal of Refractive Surgery

Editorial Free

Colin Award Established by American-European Congress of Ophthalmic Surgeons

George O. Waring, MD, FACS, FRCOphth

From Emory University, Eye1st Vision and Laser, Johns Creek, Georgia.

Dr. Waring receives funding from the American-European Congress of Ophthalmic Surgeons.

Correspondence: George O. Waring, III, MD, FACS, FRCOphth, Emory University, Eye1st Vision and Laser, 36 Willow Glen, Atlanta, GA 30342. E-mail:

His smile. Whenever I met Joseph, he radiated a smile that was indeed infectious, creating a positive, charming, enthusiastic atmosphere. Intensely personal, he was always willing to stop for a warm conversation, whether in the midst of a busy Congress or as gracious host in Bordeaux. Joseph died of metastatic renal carcinoma on February 24, 2013.

The American-European Congress of Ophthalmic Surgery (ACOS) has established the Colin Award to honor a European person in the ophthalmic industry who embodies and has advanced the ACOS goals of innovation, education, and advocacy. The award was first presented at the ACOS meeting in Cannes, France, in June 2013 to Beatrice Cochener, MD, President of the French Ophthalmology Society (SFO) and Professor and Chairman of the Ophthalmology Department at Brest University Hospital, France.

The quintessential academic ophthalmologist, Joseph attended medical school and ophthalmology residency at Brest University, followed by a fellowship at Nantes University. He created a new department as Professor of Ophthalmology and Chairman at Brest University from 1982 to 2000, when he became Chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology at Bordeaux University Medical School, where he served until his death in 2013. Driven by his own relentless curiosity, he constantly encouraged his colleagues and students toward innovation. He produced nearly 500 publications and lectured widely, giving more than 200 presentations.

Active politically, he was President of the French National University Council for Ophthalmology (1995–2003); was the President of the National French Ophthalmological Society (SFO) (2005–2008); served as president of the French Association of Intraocular Implants and Refractive Surgery; was active in the establishment of the Federation of European Ophthalmology, which represents some 15,000 European ophthalmologists with the goal of establishing education and training standards; and served on the Executive Committee of the International Society of Refractive Surgery and on the editorial board of the Society’s journal, the Journal of Refractive Surgery .

A constant contributor to clinical science, he originated techniques of using intracorneal ring segments in the management of keratoconus; the Department has become a National Reference Center for Keratoconus in France. He contributed to the early development of corneal collagen cross-linking and basic research in corneal biomechanics.

His contributions earned him numerous international awards, including the Binkhorst Medal from the European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons in 1990, the American Academy of Ophthalmology’s Honor Award in 1998 and Senior Achievement Award in 2007, and the International Society of Refractive Surgery Lans Award. In 2011, he was honored with the title of Chevalier dans l’Ordre de la Legion d’ Honneur in recognition of his services to France.

As he wished, his ashes have been scattered on the French island of his birth. Many of us colleagues and friends will long miss his graciousness, caring warmth, leadership—and his smile—always enhanced by the beauty and sophistication of his wife, Florence Malet, MD. In addition to his wife, he is survived by his children: Melanie, Typhaine, and Timothé.


Sign up to receive

Journal E-contents