February 25, 2013
1 min read

APA releases election results

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

The American Psychiatric Association’s Committee of Tellers recently met and approved the results of the American Psychiatric Association’s 2013 national election. Paul Summergrad, MD, the Dr. Frances S. Arkin Professor and chairman of the department of psychiatry at Tufts University School of Medicine, is president-elect.

The election results will not be official until approved by the APA Board of Trustees in late March.

Summergrad also is psychiatrist-in-chief at Tufts Medical Center. He serves as chair of the APA Board of Trustees ad hoc work group on the role of psychiatry in health care reform and is a member of the APA DSM-5 Scientific Review Committee.

Summergrad ran against Robert Ursano, MD, professor of psychiatry and neuroscience and chair of the department of psychiatry at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, in Bethesda, Md. Ursano also chairs the APA’s Committee on Psychiatric Dimensions of Disasters and is the editor of Psychiatry.

The following results were also announced:

  • Secretary: Maria Oquendo, MD.
  • Minority/Under-Represented Trustee: Gail Robinson, MD.
  • Area 3 Trustee: Brian Crowley, MD.
  • Area 6 Trustee: Marc Graff, MD.
  • Member-in-Training Trustee-Elect: Lara Cox, MD, MS.