Press Release

July 31, 2021
1 min read

The American Orthopaedic Association announces its 2021 Distinguished Award winners


Press Release

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

The American Orthopaedic Association announced the two recipients of its 2021 Distinguished Award at the Virtual AOA Annual Leadership Meetings on June 8.

According to the press release, the 2021 Distinguished Contributions to Orthopaedics Award was presented to Joseph Buckwalter IV, MD, FAOA, and the 2021 Distinguished Clinician Educator Award was presented to Sanford E. Emery, MD, MBA, FAOA.

Buckwalter is a professor of orthopedics and rehabilitation in addition to being the Arthur Steindler Chair of orthopedics at the University of Iowa. He has served on various boards and was president of the AOA in 2001.

“I am deeply honored by the Distinguished Contributions to Orthopaedics Award. My contributions were made possible by the opportunities I’ve had and the support I have received,” Buckwalter said in his virtual acceptance speech. “I thank all those who made [this award] possible.”

Emery received the 2021 Distinguished Clinician Educator Award for his accomplishments training medical students and other health professionals. Emery is a professor and chair of the department of orthopedics, as well as the director of surgical services at West Virginia University. In addition to practicing orthopedic surgery for the past 33 years, Emery has held several leadership positions, including president of the AOA in 2017.

Emery thanked his colleagues, mentors, residents, fellows and family in his virtual acceptance speech. He closed with a piece of advice for future orthopedists, saying, “The take home for the next generation of young leaders is the necessity of change in almost everything we do, but particularly relevant in medical education.”