September 28, 2016
1 min read

Founder’s Laurel Award, Distinguished Service Award presented at CNS Annual Meeting

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

SAN DIEGO — H. Hunt Batjer, MD, FAANS, the 2016-2017 past president of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons, was presented with the Founder’s Laurel Award at the opening day of the Congress of Neurological Surgeons Annual Meeting.

According to presenter Nathan R. Selden, MD, PhD FACS, FAAP, Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS) immediate past president, the award recognizes exceptional service, dedication and accomplishment in the field of medical education. Selden noted Batjer has served in leadership positions for many major organizations in the specialty and has been chair of the National Football League Head and Spine Committee. Selden said Batjer has helped to launch the modern era of the CNS and its contributions to neurosurgical education. Batjer has authored more than 430 publications and has given 45 endowed lectureships and 58 other visiting professorships. During the presentation, Batjer was also recognized for his expertise in the area of cerebrovascular care.

H. Hunt Batjer

“My years working with the [continuing medical education] CME community and all of [the] activities of the board and the major leagues have been the highlight of my life,” Batjer said in his speech. “Investing as we have in the future of medicine — in the future of neurosurgical care, for us, for our children and for those beyond — it has been an extraordinary and wonderful experience.”

In addition, Mary Louise Spencer was given the Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes exceptional and sustained service to the CNS and its mission. Spencer is a past executive director of the American Board of Neurological Surgery and won the American Association of Neurological Surgeons’ Distinguished Service Award in 2007. – Monica Jaramillo and Gina Brockenbrough, MA


Selden NR. Presidential address. Presented at: Congress of Neurological Surgeons Annual Meeting; Sept. 24-28, 2016; San Diego.

Disclosure: Selden reports no relevant financial disclosures.