American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Annual Meeting

American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Annual Meeting

March 21, 2013
1 min read

DePuy Synthes Joint Reconstruction recognizes next generation of leaders in total joint replacement

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

Orthopedics Today and DePuy Synthes Joint Reconstruction recognized promising surgeons in the field of total joint replacement yesterday here at the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons Annual Meeting. All of the emerging leaders in orthopedics are board-certified orthopedic surgeons with 5 to 10 years of completed training who are recognized by peers as skilled joint replacement surgeons and innovators in orthopedic surgical processes or new industry concepts.

Other criteria for receiving yesterday’s recognition are an interest in publishing and presenting clinical outcomes or original approaches to patient care in peer-reviewed journals and at meetings, as well as belonging to a leading society or group within the joint replacement community and being a good teacher or lecturer.

Furthermore, the orthopedic surgeons who were recognized are involved in administrative and other leadership positions in their institutions and membership organizations, and have outside interests that demonstrate giving back to society.


  Michael A. Rauh, MD, and Vinod Dasa, MD

Source: Stiglich JM, Orthopedics Today

The orthopedic surgeons selected were:

Christopher S. Ahmad, MD

Aaron Altenburg, MD

Matthew S. Austin, MD

Wael Barsoum, MD

Keith R. Berend, MD

Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA

James A. Browne, MD

John G. Costouros, MD

Vinod Dasa, MD

Charles DeCook, MD

Carl A. Deirmengian, MD

David William Fabi, MD

Paul J. Favorito, MD

Kevin B. Fricka, MD

William G. Hamilton, MD

Brian R. Hamlin, MD

Erik Mark Hammerberg, MD

E. Matthew Heinrich, MD

Carlos A. Higuera, MD

David J. Jacofsky, MD

Suhel Kotwal, MD

Erik Kubiak, MD

Brett R. Levine, MD

R. Michael Meneghini, MD

Robert M. Molloy, MD

Trevor G. Murray, MD

Ryan M. Nunley, MD

Mark W. Pagnano, MD

Bradford O. Parsons, MD

Michael A. Rauh, MD

Aaron K. Salyapongse, MD

Rafael J. Sierra, MS

Eric Smith, MD

Edwin E. Spencer Jr., MD

Bryan D. Springer, MD

Michael J. Taunton, MD

Michael Wiater, MD

Jonathan Yerasimides, MD

Navid Ziran, MD