July 10, 2020
1 min read

AOA elects, installs new board during virtual meeting

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

The American Optometric Association announced that Kentucky’s William T. Reynolds, OD, would serve as its new president.

The AOA released the results of its 2020-2021 board of trustees election, in a press release. The vote, which was originally scheduled to take place during Optometry’s Meeting 2020, was shown during a webinar broadcast on June 22.

Election results also led to the installation of Robert C. Layman, OD, of Ohio as president-elect; James P. DeVleming, OD, of Washington as vice president; and Ronald L. Benner, OD, of Montana as secretary-treasurer. Barbara L. Horn, OD, of South Carolina, became the immediate past president.

William T. Reynolds, OD

Terri A. Gossard, OD, of Ohio, and Curtis A. Ono, OD, of Washington, were elected as trustees, according to the release. Gossard and Ono join previously elected trustees Jacqueline Bowen, OD, of Colorado; Teri K. Geist, OD, of Nebraska; Lori L. Grover, OD, PhD, of Illinois; and Steven T. Reed, OD, of Mississippi.

Among the topics addressed in his keynote speech, Reynolds stressed the importance of practices modernizing their business models.

"We need to provide more medical and specialty care, update the way we utilize our personnel more efficiently and delegate tasks to appropriately trained staff," Reynolds said in the release. "We need to focus on vision development, eye health and overall health care as we expand into the modern practice of optometry. We cannot move the practice of optometry forward without expanding our advocacy efforts."