Optometry's Meeting

Optometry's Meeting

June 26, 2019
1 min read

AOA supports comprehensive exams, scope expansion

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

ST. LOUIS – The American Optometric Association’s House of Delegates approved eight resolutions here at Optometry’s Meeting that address the Merit-based Incentive Payment System, comprehensive eye exams, scope expansion, students, members and veterans.

CMS evaluates provider quality through the Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS), which provides non-optometrist physicians MIPS credit for educating patients on the value of a comprehensive eye exam, according to one of the AOA’s resolution. The association encourages its members to educate their non-optometrist colleagues about this benefit.

In another resolution, the AOA also urged its members to report their MIPS data through the AOA Measures and Outcomes Registry for Eyecare (AOA MORE) system instead of through the CMS website.

In support of continued expansion of optometric scope of practice, in 2018 the AOA launched the Future Practice Initiative and the Advanced Procedure and Future Practice Education Task Force. The AOA House of Delegates approved a resolution that encourages all affiliated associations to use these resources, and its Board of Trustees committed to explore additional ways to help affiliated associations when expanding or defending their optometric practice acts.

Through additional resolutions, the AOA pledged to support Think About Your Eyes, optometric students, its membership, Optometry’s Fund for Disaster Relief and safeguarding the standard of care received by veterans.

Also at this annual meeting, Barbara L. Horn, OD, of South Carolina replaced Samuel D. Pierce, OD, of Alabama as AOA president. Other officers include: William T. Reynolds, OD, of Kentucky as president-elect; Robert C. Layman, OD, of Ohio as vice president; and James P. DeVleming, OD, of Washington as secretary-treasurer.

Trustees include: Steven T. Reed, OD, of Mississippi; Lori L. Grover, OD, PhD, of Illinois; Teri K. Geist, OD, of Nebraska; and Terri A. Gossard, OD, of Ohio. – by Nancy Hemphill, ELS, FAAO