Optometry's Meeting
Optometry's Meeting
July 09, 2018
1 min read

Mallinger, Redman receive top AOA awards

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

Joe Mallinger, OD
Joe Mallinger

DENVER – The American Optometric Association recognized Joe Mallinger, OD, with its Distinguished Service Award, one of six awards presented during a ceremony here at Optometry’s Meeting.

Mallinger spent 2 decades in private practice as well as 2 decades leading Vision West. He spearheaded efforts to pass the first therapeutic bill in California as the state association’s president and is now president of Optometry Cares.

“Without the support of a wife or family or husband, our volunteer work wouldn’t come to fruition,” Mallinger said as he accepted his award.

David Redman, OD, who played a key role in securing the right to treat glaucoma for California optometrists and has served on multiple AOA committees, was named Optometrist of the Year.

“I’ve always thought we get a lot more out of volunteering than the countless hours we put into it,” Redman told attendees. “Changes are achieved not by one person, but by many people.”

David Redman, OD
David Redman
Matt Jones, OD
Matt Jones

Matt Jones, OD, who got involved with his state optometric association soon after graduation, was granted the Young Optometrist of the Year award.

“Optometry is rapidly changing, but I’m confident we’re in great hands with the leaders of this profession,” Jones said as he accepted his award. “We must continue to advance our profession.”

Mark W. Swanson, OD, MPH , who was named Educator of the Year, said he was hired at the University of Alabama at Birmingham as a temporary instructor 30 years ago.

“It’s been my great privilege to teach these students,” he said.

Mark Swanson, OD
Mark W. Swanson
Carol Lovell, CPOC
Carol Lovell

Carol Lovell, CPOC, this year’s Paraoptometric of the Year, said her attendance at SECO in 1992 opened her eyes into making her job into a career.

“Education and certification were the key to becoming the best I could be in the field,” she said.

In honor of the 50th anniversary of the American Optometric Student Association, the AOA named Hannah Greenfield AOSA Student of the Year. – by Nancy Hemphill, ELS, FAAO