Optometry's Meeting

Optometry's Meeting

July 01, 2014
1 min read

Cockrell assumes AOA presidency

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

PHILADELPHIA – David A. Cockrell, OD, of Stillwater, Okla., was sworn in as the 2014-2015 American Optometric Association president in the AOA’s House of Delegates June 28, here at Optometry’s Meeting.

Outgoing president Mitchell T. Munson, OD, of Highlands Ranch, Colo., now moves into the position of president-elect.

Steven A. Loomis, OD, of Roxborough Park, Colo., was voted into the position of president-elect; Andrea P. Thau, OD, of New York, was elected vice president; and Christopher J. Quinn, OD, of Iselin, N.J., was elected secretary-treasurer.

James P. DeVleming, OD, of Pullman, Wash., became the newest member of the AOA’s Board of Trustees with his election to a 1-year term vacated by Quinn.

Barb Horn, OD, of Washington, Mich., and Sam Pierce, OD, of Trussville, Ala., were both re-elected to their 3-year trustee positions.

Those continuing to serve the board are: Greg A. Caldwell, OD, of Duncanville, Pa.; Robert Layman, OD, of Toledo, Ohio; and William T. Reynolds, OD, of Richmond, Ky.

The AOA Board of Trustees is responsible for establishing AOA policy and advocating for the profession of optometry, both in state and federal governments, to help broaden optometry’s scope of practice; defend optometrists’ skills and the profession; and expand access to quality eye health and vision care, according to the organization.