Press Release

December 20, 2021
1 min read

Alan B. Scott, MD, inventor of Botox, dies


Press Release

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

Alan B. Scott, MD, a lifelong innovator and the inventor of Botox, died at age 89 years on Dec. 16, 2021, according to a social media statement from those close to him.

Scott is credited with developing botulinum toxin for use in ophthalmology and throughout medicine, according to a biography posted on the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus. Scott was the first to develop and use botulinum toxin to treat strabismus, blepharospasm, torticollis and leg spasms, according to the biography.

After receiving FDA approval, Scott sold the drug to Allergan and returned to clinical practice and research.

Scott was recognized as a major authority in pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus, founding the Strabismus Research Foundation in 2013.

In 2009, Scott received the Marshall M. Parks Medal from the AAPOS.

From M. Edward Wilson, MD:

The world of ophthalmology and medicine lost a giant in our field today when Alan B. Scott, MD, passed away at age 89 years. He developed and manufactured the drug that became known as Botox but he did, and was, much more. He was a friend and mentor to many of us and he was a true scientist who kept innovating well into his 80s. His many discoveries will live on, as will our memories of our time with him.

He was an active surgical ophthalmologist, a master in the treatment of strabismus and a productive researcher. It took him 19 years to develop, test (he received FDA approval) and manufacture botulinum toxin for medical use. He then sold his discovery to Allergan in 1991 and got back to his clinic, OR and lab. He had a drive for innovation (and he wanted to remain a researcher – not a businessperson).

He won the Marshall M. Parks Medal from the AAPOS, the Howe Medal from the American Ophthalmological Society, the Proctor Medal from the Association of Research in Vision and Ophthalmology and the Linksz Medal from the International Strabismological Society. He was also inducted into the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Ophthalmology Hall of Fame and received many other honors, all of which he enjoyed with his characteristic humbleness and grace.

Alan, we will miss you, especially at the annual meeting of the “Squint Club”. Rest in peace my friend.

  • References:
  • The Marshall M. Parks Medal. Accessed Dec. 20, 2021.