October 10, 2014
1 min read

Ophthalmic Premier League Symposium offers friendly competition among surgeons

The video competition will pit four teams against each other at the AAO meeting.

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

The Ophthalmic Premier League Symposium, a team video competition, will commence at the 2014 American Academy of Ophthalmology meeting.

“The video format makes this symposium very interesting for ophthalmologists, and added to it is the competition element where the ophthalmologists in the audience can vote and decide the best team,” Amar Agarwal, MS, FRCS, FRCOphth, told Ocular Surgery News.

The 90-minute symposium will feature four teams, with one team captain for each team. Team members will show their most challenging complex cataract cases in 4 minutes. The team will be given a total of 18 minutes to present.

After all videos have been showcased, the remaining time will be used for discussion and voting. Audience members will be given the opportunity to vote for their favorite team with an automated response system.

“There will be massive teaching during this symposium, as the players will showcase their toughest cataract complications and how they managed them,” Agarwal said. “Added to that will be the entertainment and fun part, where each team will try to pull down the other.”

Agarwal and Richard L. Lindstrom, MD, will act as chairs for the competition, while Richard L. Abbott, MD, and Jonathan B. Rubenstein, MD, will moderate the session and William J. Fishkind, MD, FACS, and Nick Mamalis, MD, will serve as judges.

The four teams and team captains at this year’s Ophthalmic Premier League Symposium are the Chicago Choppers with captain Roger F. Steinert, MD; the LA Accommodators with captain Kevin M. Miller, MD; the Frisco Flomaxinators with captain David F. Chang, MD; and the Vegas Multifocals with captain Robert H. Osher, MD.

The winning team of the Ophthalmic Premier League Symposium will be awarded the first AAO-Ophthalmic Premier League trophy. – by Nhu Te