Press Release

October 30, 2021
2 min read

Oncologists, hematologists elected to National Academy of Medicine


Press Release

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

The National Academy of Medicine announced the election of 90 regular members and 10 international members.

Election to the academy — considered one of the highest honors in health and medicine — recognizes individuals who demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

“It is my privilege to welcome this extraordinary class of new members. Their contributions to health and medicine are unmatched. They’ve made groundbreaking discoveries, taken bold action against social inequities and led the response to some of the greatest public health challenges of our time,” Victor J. Dzau, MD, president of National Academy of Medicine, said in a press release. “This is also the [academy’s] most diverse class of new members to date, composed of approximately 50% women and 50% racial and ethnic minorities. This class represents many identities and experiences, all of which are absolutely necessary to address the existential threats facing humanity.”

The academy now has more than 2,200 members, including more than 170 international members.

Newly elected members recognized for contributions related to hematology and oncology include:

  • Samuel Achilefu, PhD, Michel M. Ter-Pogossian professor of radiology and director of the Optical Imaging Laboratory within Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology at Washington University School of Medicine;
  • Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD, Richard E. Wilson MD professor of surgery at Harvard Medical School, associate surgeon at Dana-Farber/Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center, and group chair for Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology;
  • Maximilian Diehn, MD, PhD, associate professor, vice chair of research, and division chief of radiation and cancer biology in the department of radiation oncology at Stanford University School of Medicine;
  • Yuman Fong, MD, Sangiacomo family chair in surgical oncology and chair of the department of surgery at City of Hope;
  • William C. Hahn, MD, PhD, executive vice president and chief operating officer of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and William Rosenberg professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School;
  • Mary Elizabeth Hatten, PhD, Frederick P. Rose professor and head of Laboratory of Developmental Neurobiology at Rockefeller University;
  • Helen Elisabeth Heslop, MD, DSc (Hon), Dan L. Duncan chair, professor of pediatrics and medicine, and director of Center for Cell and Gene Therapy at Baylor College of Medicine;
  • Elisa Konofagou, PhD, Robert and Margaret Hariri professor of biomedical engineering and professor of radiology at Columbia University;
  • Michelle Monje, MD, PhD, associate professor in the department of neurology and neurological sciences at Stanford University Medical Center;
  • Drew Pardoll, MD, PhD, Abeloff professor at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and director of Bloomberg-Kimmel Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy;
  • Charles M. Rice, PhD, Maurice R. and Corinne P. Greenberg professor and head of Laboratory of Virology and Infectious Disease at Rockefeller University;
  • Melissa Andrea Simon, MD, MPH, George H. Gardner professor of clinical gynecology and professor of obstetrics and gynecology, medical social sciences and preventive medicine at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine;
  • Anil Kumar Sood, MD, FACOG, FACS, professor and vice chair for translational research in the department of gynecologic oncology and reproductive medicine at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; and
  • JoAnn Trejo, PhD, MBA, professor of pharmacology and assistant vice chancellor of health sciences faculty affairs at University of California, San Diego.