Press Release

April 25, 2021
1 min read

Society of Surgical Oncology announces president, executive council officers


Press Release

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

Society of Surgical Oncology announced its newly elected executive council officers for the 2021-2022 term.

Douglas S. Tyler, MD, MSHCT, FSSO, will serve as president.

Douglas S. Tyler, MD, MSHCT, FSSO
Douglas S. Tyler

Tyler is John Woods Harris distinguished chair in surgery at University of Texas Medical Branch, as well as adjunct professor in the department of surgical oncology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center.

His clinical practice focuses on melanoma and gastrointestinal cancers. His research interests focus on surgical oncology — particularly melanoma and surgical training.

Tyler previously served as chairman of American Board of Surgery’s complex general surgical oncology board from 2014 to 2016.

Sandra L. Wong, MD, MS, FSSO, will serve as president-elect.

Sandra L. Wong, MD, MS, FSSO
Sandra L. Wong

Wong is William N. and Bessie Allyn professor of surgery and chair of the department of surgery at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center and Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth. She also is professor at The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice.

Wong is recognized for her expertise in soft tissue sarcoma, melanoma, Merkel cell carcinoma and gastrointestinal cancers.

Her research focus areas include quality of care. Her current work relates to the study of disparities in surgical oncology care, as well as development and implementation of electronic patient-reported outcomes to improve symptom management.

Russell S. Berman, MD, FSSO, will serve as vice president for a 3-year term.

Russell S. Berman, MD, FSSO
Russell S. Berman

Berman is professor of surgery at New York University Grossman School of Medicine. He also is chief of surgical oncology, vice chair for surgical education and faculty affairs, and director of the general surgery residency program.

Berman previously served as chair of the society’s training committee and SCORE committee.

Other society officers include Kelly K. Hunt, MD, who is serving her third and final year as secretary; Ronald DeMatteo, MD, FSSO, who is in the second year of a 3-year term as treasurer; and immediate past president James R. Howe, MD, FSSO.