American Association for Cancer Research Annual Meeting

American Association for Cancer Research Annual Meeting


Press Release

April 09, 2021
3 min read

Association elects 25 fellows of AACR Academy


Press Release

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

American Association for Cancer Research elected 25 scientists as fellows of the AACR Academy.

The AACR Academy recognizes distinguished scientists whose scientific contributions have contributed to significant innovation and progress against cancer. Fellows help advance AACR’s mission to prevent and cure cancer through research, education, communication, collaboration, funding for cancer research, and science advocacy and policy.

“These individuals from across the globe have all made remarkable and crucial contributions to cancer research,” Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc), CEO of AACR, said in an association-issued press release. “The 2021 class consists of luminaries representing numerous scientific disciplines, whose work has significantly accelerated the pace of progress against various malignancies. We are honored to have them join our 231 existing fellows and look forward to celebrating their unique scientific achievements.”

This year’s fellows class includes:

Lucile L. Adams-Campbell, PhD, associate director for minority health and health disparities research, senior associate dean for community outreach and engagement, and professor of oncology at Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center at Georgetown University Medical Center;

Frances H. Arnold, PhD, professor of chemical engineering, bioengineering and biochemistry and director of the Donna and Benjamin M. Rosen Bioengineering Center at California Institute of Technology;

Allan Balmain, PhD, FRSE, FRS, distinguished professorship in cancer genetics at Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of California, San Francisco;

Anna D. Barker, PhD, chief strategy officer at Lawrence J. Ellison Institute for Transformative Medicine at University of Southern California;

Mary Beckerle
Mary C. Beckerle

Mary C. Beckerle, PhD, CEO of Huntsman Cancer Institute, as well as associate vice president for cancer affairs and distinguished professor of biology and oncological sciences at University of Utah;

Shelley L. Berger, PhD, professor in the department of cell and developmental biology and department of genetics at Perelman School of Medicine at University of Pennsylvania;

John D. Carpten, PhD
John D. Carpten

John D. Carpten, PhD, professor and chair of the department of translational genomics and chair in cancer research at Keck School of Medicine of University of Southern California;

Lieping Chen, MD, PhD, professor in cancer research, professor of immunobiology, dermatology and medicine and co-leader of the cancer immunology program at Yale Cancer Center;

Don W. Cleveland, PhD, member of Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research and professor of medicine, neurosciences, and cellular and molecular medicine at University of California, San Diego;

Sara A. Courtneidge, PhD, associate director for translational sciences and professor in the departments of cell, developmental and cancer biology, and biomedical engineering at Oregon Health & Science University;

Albert de la Chapelle, MD, PhD, distinguished university professor in the department of cancer biology and genetics at The Ohio State University;

George D. Demetri, MD, director of the Center for Sarcoma and Bone Oncology, senior vice president for experimental therapeutics, and chair in medical oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School; and co-director of Ludwig Center at Harvard University;

Philip C. Hanawalt, PhD, professor in biology (emeritus) at Stanford University;

Curtis C. Harris, MD, chief of the Laboratory of Human Carcinogenesis and head of the molecular genetics and carcinogenesis Section at Center for Cancer Research at NCI;

Nancy H. Hopkins, PhD, professor of biology (emerita) at Massachusetts Institute of Technology;

Guillermina Lozano, PhD, professor and chair of the department of genetics at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center;

Shigekazu Nagata, PhD, distinguished professor at Immunology Frontier Research Center at Osaka University in Japan;

Aviv Regev, PhD, executive vice president at Genentech Research and Early Development;

Martine F. Roussel, PhD, professor, member and endowed chair in molecular oncogenesis at St. Jude Children's Research Hospital;

Ton N. Schumacher, PhD, principal investigator at The Netherlands Cancer Institute;

M. Celeste Simon, PhD, professor of cell and developmental biology, scientific director of Abramson Family Cancer Research Institute, and associate director of Abramson Cancer Center Core Facilities at Perelman School of Medicine at University of Pennsylvania;

Tadatsugu Taniguchi, PhD, professor emeritus at The University of Tokyo;

Xiaodong Wang, PhD, director and investigator at National Institute of Biological Sciences in China;

Eileen P. White, PhD, deputy director, chief scientific officer and associate director for basic research at Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey, as well as distinguished professor of molecular biology and biochemistry at Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey; and

Yosef Yarden, PhD, professor in the department of biological regulation at Weizmann Institute of Science in Israel.