August 28, 2020
4 min read

Esteemed Peer Perspective Board helps chart course for Healio’s Women in Oncology

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

Women in Oncology, a first-of-its kind effort from Healio, will inform, inspire, engage and empower female professionals with guidance from those who have exceled in their professional careers, mentored younger doctors, and led full and rewarding personal lives.

Healio’s Women in Oncology will advance the work of women in the field of oncology and provide essential insights for overcoming their unique challenges.

Our Peer Perspective Board, under the leadership of Consulting Medical Editor, Shikha Jain, MD, FACP, will guide us along this journey, but we will also rely on feedback from readers through our website at and Twitter feed, @WomenInOnc, to help keep us on course. Email the editor at if you would like to participate.

Meet our esteemed Peer Perspective Board here:

Shikha Jain, MD, FACP
Shikha Jain

Jain is assistant professor of medicine in the division of hematology and oncology and director of communication strategies in medicine at the University of Illinois Chicago, and associate director of oncology communication and digital innovation at the University of Illinois Cancer Center.

Marissa C. Weiss, MD
Marisa C. Weiss

Marisa C. Weiss, MD, is the founder and chief medical officer of and the director of breast radiation oncology at Lankenau Medical Center in Wynnewood, Pennsylvania.

Barbara Burtness, MD
Barbara Burtness

Barbara Burtness, MD, is a professor of medical oncology at Yale School of Medicine. She is the co-leader of developmental therapeutics and the disease aligned research team leader of the head and neck cancers program at the Yale Cancer Center.

Narjust Duma, MD
Narjust Duma

Narjust Duma, MD, is an associate professor of thoracic oncology at the University of Wisconsin Carbone Cancer Center.

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, FASCO, FASTRO
Reshma Jagsi

Reshma Jagsi, MD, DPhil, FASCO, FASTRO, is the Newman Family Professor and deputy chair of the University of Michigan’s department of radiation oncology. She is also the director of the Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine.

Jubilee Brown, MD
Jubilee Brown

Jubilee Brown, MD, is a professor and the division director of gynecologic oncology at the Levine Cancer Institute and Hall Gynecologic Oncology Center.

Merry-Jennifer Markham, MD, FACP, FASCO
Merry-Jennifer Markham

Merry-Jennifer Markham, MD, FACP, FASCO, is the interim chief and professor of the University of Florida’s division of hematology and oncology. She is also the associate director for medical affairs at the University of Florida Health Cancer Center.

Stephanie L. Graff, MD, FACP
Stephanie L. Graff

Stephanie L. Graff, MD, FACP, directs HCA Midwest Health’s breast cancer and clinical research programs. She is also the associate director of breast cancer clinical research at the Sarah Cannon Research Institute and leads breast cancer clinical programming at the Sarah Cannon Cancer Network.

Nancy Davidson, MD
Nancy Davidson

Nancy Davidson, MD, is the president and executive director of the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance. She leads Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center’s Clinical Research division as senior vice president, where she is a professor and was also named Raisbeck Endowed Chair for Collaborative Cancer Research. Davidson is also a professor and head of the division of medical oncology in the University of Washington’s department of medicine.

Charu Aggarwal, MD, MPH
Charu Aggarwal

Charu Aggarwal, MD, MPH, is the Leslye M. Heisler associate professor of lung cancer excellence in the University of Pennsylvania’s division of hematology/oncology.

Neeta K. Venepalli, MD, MBA, FACP
Neeta K. Venepalli

Neeta K. Venepalli, MD, MBA, FACP, is an associate professor at the University of Illinois’ division of hematology oncology within the department of medicine. She is the associate chief medical officer at the University of Illinois Hospital and chairs the university cancer center’s data safety monitoring committee.

Suzanne Cole, MD, FACP, a hematologist and medical oncologist, is the medical director of UT Southwestern Simmons Cancer Center in Richardson/Plano, Texas, where she is also an assistant professor in the division of hematology and oncology.

Priya U. Kumthekar, MD
Priya U. Kumthekar

Priya U. Kumthekar, MD, is an associate professor of neurology and hematology/oncology at the Northwestern University’s Feinberg College of Medicine.

Anees B. Chagpar, MD, MSc, MPH, MA, MBA, FRCS(C), FACS
Anees B. Chagpar

Anees B. Chagpar, MD, MSc, MPH, MA, MBA, FRCS(C), FACS, is a professor in Yale University School of Medicine’s department of surgery.

Cardinale B. Smith, MD, PhD
Cardinale B. Smith

Cardinale B. Smith, MD, PhD, is an associate professor of medicine in the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai and chief quality officer of cancer services in the Mount Sinai Health System.

Sara M. Tolaney, MD, MPH
Sara M. Tolaney

Sara M. Tolaney, MD, MPH, is the associate director of the Susan F. Smith Center for Women’s Cancers and an assistant professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School. She also directs breast oncology clinical trials and breast immunotherapy clinical research in the breast oncology program at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, where she is also a senior physician.

Debra Patt, MD, PhD, MBA, FASCO
Debra Patt

Debra Patt, MD, PhD, MBA, FASCO, chairs the Texas Medical Association’s council on legislation. She is also the executive vice president of policy and strategic initiatives at Texas Oncology and medical director of analytics at Mckesson Specialty Health.

Rachna Shroff, MD, MS
Rachna Shroff

Rachna Shroff, MD, MS, is chief of the section of GI medical oncology, director of the clinical trials office, vice chair of clinical research in the department of medicine and associate professor of medicine in the division of hematology/oncology at the University of Arizona Cancer Center.

Carrie A. Thompson, MD, MS
Carrie A. Thompson

Carrie A. Thompson, MD, MS, is the residency program director and associate chair of the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science’s Department of Medicine, where she also is an associate professor. She is a consultant within the division of hematology.

Ishwaria M. Subbiah, MD, MS
Ishwaria M. Subbiah

Ishwaria M. Subbiah, MD, MS, is an assistant professor in the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center’s division of cancer medicine.

Marcela Maus, MD, PhD
Marcela Maus

Marcela Maus, MD, PhD, directs the cellular immunotherapy program at Massachusetts General Hospital, where she is also an attending physician of hematology/oncology. She is an assistant professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School. She is an associate member of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard as well as the Ragon Institute of MGH, MIT and Harvard.

Pamela Kunz, MD
Pamela Kunz

Pamela Kunz, MD, leads the gastrointestinal cancers program and directs gastrointestinal medical oncology at Yale School of Medicine and Yale Cancer Center, where she is also an associate professor of medicine/oncology.

Ashley Sumrall, MD, FACP, is the section chief of Neuro-Oncology at Levine Cancer Institute in Charlotte, N.C. She is an associate professor of medicine and serves as faculty for the internal medicine residency program and the hematology/oncology fellowship program at Atrium Health-Carolinas Medical Center, as well as clinical assistant professor of medicine in affiliation with University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Charlotte campus. Sumrall also serves on a number of ASCO’s committees and panels.