Immuno-Oncology Resource Center
Immuno-Oncology Resource Center
June 06, 2020
1 min read

NCCN Foundation presents young investigator awards

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

The National Comprehensive Cancer Network and NCCN Foundation announced five recipients of the 10th annual NCCN Foundation Young Investigator Awards.

The honorees will receive up to $150,000 in funding over 2 years to study strategies designed to improve care and help identify cures for people with breast, colorectal, pancreatic or small cell lung cancers, or pediatric acute myeloid leukemia.

“NCCN Foundation Young Investigator Award recipients go on to make incredible contributions to the global oncology community,” Robert W. Carlson, MD, CEO of NCCN, said in a press release. “These men and women are among the best of the best up-and-coming cancer researchers, and NCCN is proud to provide a step up on their career journey. Each of these studies represents a critical learning opportunity that can help us save lives and lessen hardships for people with cancer.”

The recipients and their research project titles are:

Agnieszka Czechowicz, MD, PhD
Agnieszka Czechowicz

Agnieszka Czechowicz, MD, PhD, assistant professor of pediatrics at Stanford University School of Medicine — Development of anti-hKIT chimeric antigen receptor T cells as a dual hematopoietic stem cell transplantation conditioning and immunotherapeutic agent for cure of pediatric AML;

Wade T. Iams, MD
Wade T. Iams

Wade T. Iams, MD, assistant professor of medicine at Vanderbilt University Medical Center — Quantifying minimal residual disease in patients with small cell lung cancer;

Shivan Mehta, MD, MBA, MSHP
Shivan Mehta

Shivan Mehta, MD, MBA, MSHP, assistant professor of medicine at University of Pennsylvania — Choice architecture and mailed colorectal cancer screening outreach in a community health setting;

Mustafa Raoof, MD
Mustafa Raoof

Mustafa Raoof, MD, assistant clinical professor at City of Hope Beckman Research Institute — Targeting transcription-replication conflicts in KRAS-driven pancreatic cancer; and

Jennifer Y. Sheng, MD
Jennifer Y. Sheng

Jennifer Y. Sheng, MD, assistant professor in oncology at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine — An adaptive nutrition and exercise weight loss study for breast cancer survivors.

The five honorees will present results from their research projects during the NCCN 2022 Annual Conference.

“The NCCN Foundation is proud to honor these talented researchers as they explore the course of treatment innovation and advancement for people with cancer,” Marcie R. Reeder, MPH, executive director of NCCN Foundation, said in the release. “We look forward to seeing where their research takes them on the path toward future breakthroughs.”