August 08, 2019
1 min read

American Society for Radiation Oncology members receive fellow designation

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

American Society for Radiation Oncology designated 26 members to receive ASTRO fellow designation.

The honorees will be recognized during the society’s annual meeting, scheduled for Sept. 15-18 in Chicago.

“On behalf of ASTRO, I commend these 26 outstanding physicians and scientists for their collective and far-reaching contributions to our specialty, as well as for each individual’s work to advance cancer research, education and clinical care to improve patient outcomes,” Paul Harari, MD, FASTRO, chair of ASTRO’s board of directors, said in a press release.

ASTRO fellows designation honors individuals who made significant contributions to the society and radiation oncology through research, education, patient care or service to the field. Only 353 of ASTRO’s 10,000-plus members around the world have received FASTRO designation since 2006.

The 2019 fellows are Ron R. Allison, MD, of Federal Medical Center; Felipe A. Calvo, MD, of Clinica Universidad de Navarra; Allen M. Chen, MD, of University of California, Irvine; Gregg Franklin, MD, PhD, of New Mexico Cancer Center; Joel Greenberger, MD, of UPMC Hillman Cancer Center; Michele Yvette Halyard, MD, of Mayo Clinic in Scottsdale, Arizona; Daphne Haas-Kogan, MD, of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute/Brigham and Women’s Hospital; Kathleen M. Hintenlang, PhD, of The Ohio State University; Vivek Kavadi, MD, of Texas Oncology; Paul Keall, PhD, of The University of Sydney; Larry L. Kestin, MD, of MHP Radiation Oncology Institute; Deepak Khuntia, MD, of Precision Cancer Specialists; David Kirsch, MD, PhD, of Duke University Medical Center; Sunil Krishnan, MD, of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; Fei-Fei Liu, MD, of Princess Margaret Cancer Centre; Daniel Low, PhD, of University of California, Los Angeles; Matthew Manning, MD, of Cone Health; Rinaa Punglia, MD, MPH, of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute; Ramesh Rengan, MD, PhD, of University of Washington School of Medicine; Ugur Selek, MD, PhD, of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center-Istanbul; Helen A. Shi, MD, MS, MPH, of Massachusetts General Hospital; Benjamin D. Smith, MD, of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; Srinivasan Vijayakumar, MD, of University of Mississippi Medical Center; Akila N. Viswanathan, MD, of Johns Hopkins Medicine; Catheryn Yashar, MD, of University of California, San Diego; and Torunn Yock, MD, MCH, of Massachusetts General Hospital.