ASH Annual Meeting and Exposition
ASH Annual Meeting and Exposition
July 15, 2019
2 min read

ASH announces award recipients

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

Several distinguished leaders in hematology will be honored with awards and special lectures at this year’s ASH Annual Meeting and Exposition, scheduled for Dec. 7-10 in Orlando, Florida.

Richard Aster, MD, professor of medicine at Medical College of Wisconsin and senior investigator at Versiti Blood Center of Wisconsin, will receive the Wallace H. Coulter Award for Lifetime Achievement in Hematology.

The award recognizes an individual who demonstrated lifetime achievement and leadership in education, research, mentoring and practice.

“I am humbled and deeply grateful to be recognized by ASH for the Wallace H. Coulter Lifetime Achievement Award,” Aster said in a press release. “I have enjoyed every minute of this long journey, and I am hopeful that my longer term legacy will reflect research findings that improve the care of patients with hematologic disorders.”

Aster will be honored for his contributions to the understanding of immune diseases that affect blood cells, particularly those involving platelets. His work led to improvements in the preparation and storage of platelets for transfusion, recruitment of unrelated bone marrow donors, and platelet matching for patients immunized against platelet antigens.

“ASH believes that Dr. Aster embodies many of the attributes of Wallace Coulter, such as his love of investigation, creativity, tenacity and generosity,” ASH President Roy Silverstein, MD, said in the release. “Dr. Aster exhibits a genuine passion for hematology and has set a high bar for excellence in research, mentorship and patient care.”

Sriram Krishnaswamy, PhD, of Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and Perelman School of Medicine at University of Pennsylvania, and Jeffrey I. Weitz, MD, of McMaster University will receive the Ernest Beutler Lecture and Prize.

The two-part lectureship recognizes major translational advances related to a single topic. The award honors one individual for enabling advances in basic science and another who used clinical science or translational research to carry basic science advances through to tangible improvements in patient care.

Krishnaswamy and Weitz will be honored for their research contributions to the understanding and treatment of blood clots.

Emmanuelle Passegué, Ph D, of Columbia University Irving Medical Center will receive the William Dameshek Prize, which recognizes an early- or midcareer hematologist who made a recent outstanding contribution to the field of hematology. Passegué will be honored for her outstanding contributions to the understanding of hematopoietic stem cells.

Philip Greenberg, MD, of Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center and University of Washington, will receive the E. Donnall Thomas Lecture and Prize, which recognizes pioneering research achievements in hematology that represent a paradigm shift or significant discovery in the field. Greenberg will be honored for his outstanding contributions to the field of immunotherapy.


William Eaton, MD, PhD, of National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, and Richard A. Larson, MD, of University of Chicago will receive the Henry M. Stratton Medal, which recognizes two senior investigators whose contributions to basic and clinical/translational hematology research are well-recognized and have taken place over several years.

Michael R. DeBaun, MD, of Vanderbilt University School of Medicine and Leonard Zon, MD, of Harvard Medical School and Boston Children’s Hospital, will receive Mentor Awards in recognition of their sustained, outstanding commitment to the training and career development of early-career hematologists.

Griffin Rodgers, MD, of National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, will receive the ASH Award for Leadership in Promoting Diversity in recognition of his extraordinary commitment to diversity and inclusion in hematology.