Immuno-Oncology Resource Center
Immuno-Oncology Resource Center
August 18, 2018
1 min read

Immunotherapy researchers to share Albany Prize

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

James Allison, PhD
James P. Allison

Three cancer researchers will share the 2018 Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research.

The recipients — James P. Allison, PhD; Carl H. June, MD; and Steven A. Rosenberg, MD, PhD — are being recognized for their contributions to research that established immunotherapy as a revolutionary and effective method to treat cancer and other diseases.

Carl June
Carl H. June
Steven Rosenberg
Steven A. Rosenberg

“Because of the work of these three researchers, the nascent field of immunotherapy has already had spectacular success, leading to effective mitigation and often cures for thousands of cancer and HIV patients whose diseases were not treatable by other methods,” Vincent Verdile, MD, Lynne and Mark Groban distinguished dean of Albany Medical College and chair of the Albany Prize National Selection Committee, said in a press release. “Their impact on the development of cancer immunotherapy — and where it goes from here — is unsurpassed.”

Allison is chair of the department of immunology at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. June is director of the Center for Cellular Immunotherapy within Abramson Cancer Center at University of Pennsylvania, as well as director of Parker Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy at Penn. Rosenberg is chief of the surgery branch at NCI.

Ned Sharpless

“We congratulate these amazing scientists for receiving this prestigious award,” Norman E. “Ned” Sharpless, MD, director of NCI, said in the release. “Their visionary work exemplifies the value of the national cancer program. Each has had a long history of NCI support and I celebrate their achievement.”

The award — presented annually since 2001 — includes a $500,000 prize.

Allison, June and Rosenberg will receive the award Sept. 26 in Albany, N.Y.