July 28, 2018
2 min read

American Society for Radiation Oncology members receive fellow designation

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

American Society for Radiation Oncology designated 35 members as ASTRO fellows.

The honorees will be recognized during the society’s annual meeting, scheduled for Oct. 21-24 in San Antonio.

“On behalf of ASTRO, I commend and thank these 35 outstanding physicians and scientists for their far-reaching contributions to our specialty over the years and for all that each individual has done to advance and improve cancer care,” Brian Kavanagh, MD, MPH, FASTRO, chair of ASTRO’s board of directors, said in a press release.

ASTRO fellows designation honors individuals who made significant contributions to the society and radiation oncology through research, education, patient care or service to the field. Only 328 of ASTRO’s 10,000-plus members around the world have received FASTRO designation since 2006.

The 2018 fellows are Soren Bentzen, DSc, PhD, of University of Maryland School of Medicine; Jeffrey C. Buchsbaum, MD, PhD, AM, of NCI; Paul M. Busse, MD, PhD, of Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School; Arnab Chakravarti, MD, of The Ohio State University College of Medicine/Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute; Joe Y. Chang, MD, PhD, of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; Peter Y. Chen, MD, of Beaumont Health System and Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine; Jason Chia-Hsien Cheng, MD, MS, PhD, of National Taiwan University College of Medicine and Hospital; Indrin J. Chetty, PhD, of Henry Ford Health System; Benjamin W. Corn, MD, of Shaare Zedek Medical Center in Jerusalem; Iris C. Gibbs, MD, of Stanford Medicine; David Gius, MD, PhD, of Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine; Eleanor E. R. Harris, MD, of Case Western Reserve University and University Hospitals; Mark D. Hurwitz, MD, of Sidney Kimmel Medical College at Thomas Jefferson University; Reshma Jagsi, MD, PhD, of University of Michigan; Ashesh B. Jani, MD, of Emory University; John A. Kalapurakal, MD, or Northwestern University; Matthew S. Katz, MD, of Radiation Oncology Associates PA in Lowell, Mass.; Sameer Keole, MD, of Mayo Clinic in Phoenix; Feng-Ming Kong, MD, PhD, of Case Western Reserve University; Zhongxing Liao, MD, of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; Mitchell Machtay, MD, of University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center; Catherine Park, MD, of University of California, San Francisco; Shilpen Patel, MD, of Grail in Menlo Park, Calif.; Robert A. Price Jr., PhD, of Fox Chase Cancer Center; David Raben, MD, of University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine; Hui-Kuo G. Shu, MD, PhD, of Emory University; Berend J. Slotman, MD, PhD, of Amsterdam University Medical Center; Robert Timmerman, MD, of University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Gregory M.M. Videtic, MD, CM, of Cleveland Clinic; Bhadrasain Vikram, MD, of NCI; Stephanie E. Weiss, MD, of Fox Chase Cancer Center; Gayle E. Woloschak, PhD, of Northwestern University; Min Yao, MD, PhD, of University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center; Ellen D. Yorke, PhD, of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; and Weining Ken Zhen, MD, of University of Nebraska Medical Center.