August 03, 2017
1 min read

American Society for Radiation Oncology members receive fellows designation

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

The American Society for Radiation Oncology designated 23 members as ASTRO fellows.

The honorees will be recognized during the society’s annual meeting, scheduled for Sept. 24-27 in San Diego.

ASTRO fellows designation honors individuals who have been active, emeritus or international members of the society for at least 15 years, given the equivalent of 10 years of service to ASTRO, and significantly added to the field of radiation oncology in the areas of research, education, patient care, or service and leadership.

The society has recognized 292 fellows since 2006.

“The impact that this group of dedicated individuals has had on the field of radiation oncology is immense,” ASTRO Chair David C. Beyer, MD, FASTRO, said in a society-issued press release. “On behalf of ASTRO, I commend and thank these 23 outstanding physicians and medical physicists for their far-reaching contributions over the years — through research and patient care — to our specialty and the fight against cancer.”

The 2017 fellows are Douglas W. Arthur, MD, of Virginia Commonwealth University; Jeffrey D. Bradley, MD, of Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis; Kevin Camphausen, MD, of the NCI’s Radiation Oncology Branch; Hak Choy, MD, of UT Southwestern Medical Center; Brian Czito, MD, of Duke University; Patricia Harrigan Hardenbergh, MD, of Shaw Regional Cancer Center; Eric M. Horwitz, MD, of Fox Chase Cancer Center; Kenneth Shung Hu, MD, of New York University Langone Medical Center; Peter Anthony Spencer Johnstone, MD, of Moffitt Cancer Center; Jonathan P.S. Knisely, MD, of Weill Cornell Medicine; Albert Koong, MD, PhD, of Stanford University School of Medicine; John J. Kresl, MD, PhD, of Phoenix CyberKnife and Radiation Oncology Center and Palo Verde Cancer Specialists; Nancy Lee, MD, of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center; Simon S. Lo, MB, ChB, of University of Washington School of Medicine; Richard D. Lovett, MD, of University of Vermont College of Medicine; Alvaro Martinez, MD, of 21st Century Oncology; Lorraine Portelance, MD, of Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of Miami; George Rodrigues, MD, PhD, of London Health Sciences Centre; Alphonse G. Taghian, MD, PhD, of Massachusetts General Hospital; Bin S. Teh, MD, of Houston Methodist Hospital Cancer Center and Research Institute; Wolfgang A. Tomé, PhD, of Montefiore Medical Center/Albert Einstein College of Medicine; Frank A. Vicini, MD, of 21st Century Oncology; and Fang-Fang Yin, PhD, of Duke University Medical Center.