July 27, 2017
1 min read

American Society for Radiation Oncology members elect officers

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

Members of the American Society for Radiation Oncology elected three officers to the society’s board of directors, as well as three individuals to serve on its nominating committee.

The officers will begin their terms during the ASTRO Annual Meeting in September.

Theodore L. DeWeese, MD, FASTRO, vice president for Johns Hopkins Medicine and chair of the department of radiation oncology and molecular radiation sciences at Johns Hopkins University, will serve as president elect.

W illiam Hartsell, MD, FASTRO, radiation oncologist at Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital and medical director of Northwestern Medicine Chicago Proton Center, will serve as health policy council vice chair.

Catherine Park, MD, of professor in and chair of the department of radiation oncology at University of California, San Francisco, will serve as science council vice chair.

Society members elected to the nominating committee are: Charles Thomas, MD, of Oregon Health and Science University; Paul Sperduto, MD, MPP, FASTRO, of Minneapolis Radiation Oncology PA; and Jacqueline P. Williams, PhD, FASTRO, of University of Rochester Medical Center.

“The cancer care community is undergoing a seismic shift, as we determine what the next chapter will be,” David C. Beyer, MD, FASTRO, chair of ASTRO’s board of directors, said in a press release. “Radiation oncology is a key part of many of these discussions, from immunotherapy combinations to health care reform. These demonstrated leaders will help guide the 10,000-plus ASTRO members and our field on key issues of science, health policy and patient care.”