October 29, 2016
1 min read

American Thyroid Association elects new officers

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

John C. Morris III, MD, has been elected president of the American Thyroid Association for 2016-2017.

Morris served as secretary of the association for five years and was chosen as president-elect in 2015.

Morris is professor of medicine at Mayo Clinic School of Medicine in Rochester, Minnesota, where he previously served as chair of the division of endocrinology, diabetes, metabolism and nutrition.

He directs an NCI–funded research laboratory that is evaluating the role of the sodium-iodide symporter as a therapeutic gene for cancer gene therapy.

Charles H. Emerson, MD, professor emeritus of medicine at University of Massachusetts Medical School, has been named the association’s president-elect.

Julie Ann Sosa, MD, professor of surgery and medicine (oncology) at Duke University, will serve as treasurer-elect.