October 05, 2019
1 min read

Sherman Prize winners include IBD pioneers from Cleveland Clinic, UCSD, UHealth

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

Maria Abreu, MD 
Maria Abreu
William J. Sandborn 
William Sandborn

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation has announced the 2019 recipients of the Sherman Prize for their research in the treatment of Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.

The honorees include Maria T. Abreu, MD, division chief of gastroenterology and director of the Crohn’s & Colitis Center at the University of Miami Health System; William J. Sandborn, MD, director of the Inflammatory Bowel Disease Center at UC San Diego Health; and Florian Rieder, MD, an assistant professor in the department of inflammation and immunity at Cleveland Clinic.

Abreu and Sandborn each received $100,000; Abreu for her contributions in identifying an epidemic of IBD in Miami’s Hispanic community and advancing novel research to understand environmental triggers for IBD and exploring ways to optimize treatment, and Sandborn for his work in IBD clinical trial design that enabled a revolution in treatment that set the standard for clinical care. Rieder received the $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize for his role in advancing the development of novel therapies to treat fibrostenosis.

“In the fourth year of the Sherman Prize, we’re proud to honor Drs. Abreu, Sandborn and Rieder, visionaries who share a deep commitment to addressing the unmet challenges of IBD,” Bruce and Cynthia Sherman said in a press release. “The holistic care they provide and the rigorous scientific research they lead is improving the quality of life for people with IBD today and laying the foundation for greater discoveries in the future.”

The Sherman Prizes will be presented at Advances in IBD 2019 in Orlando.

“IBD can be devastating, disrupting people’s lives and livelihoods,” Dermot P. McGovern, MD, PhD, Sherman Prize Selection Committee Chair and the Joshua L. and Lisa Z. Greer Endowed Chair in Inflammatory Bowel Disease Genetics at Cedars-Sinai, said in the release. “Not only have these Sherman Prize honorees made incredible contributions to improving treatment and care, they are exceptional teachers, mentoring the next generation of physician scientists to ensure continued advances in the field.”