Ulcerative Colitis Resource Center

Ulcerative Colitis Resource Center

September 22, 2018
1 min read

Sherman Prize honors researchers for work in Crohn’s, ulcerative colitis

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

David Binion, MD
David G. Binion
Jean-Frederic Colombel

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation has announced the 2018 recipients of the Sherman Prize for their research in the treatment of Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis.

The honorees include David G. Binion, MD, co-director of the IBD Center and director of Translational IBD Research at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine; Jean-Frederic Colombel, MD, director of the Susan and Leonard Feinstein IBD Center at Mount Sinai; and Amy L. Lightner, MD, medical director of the Translation Into Practice Platforms at Mayo Clinic’s Center for Regenerative Medicine in Rochester, Minnesota.

Binion and Colombel each receive $100,000; Binion for his contributions with research on ‘Big Data’ and how it is making precision medicine possible in IBD, and Colombel for his contributions with research in IBD genetics, risk factors and treatment.

Lightner receives the $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize for pushing the boundaries of reconstructive pouch surgery, as well as minimally invasive surgical techniques and pursuing research in innovative stem cell therapies to try to offer patients non-surgical alternatives.

“This year’s Sherman Prize honorees, Drs. Binion, Colombel and Lightner, have helped to transform treatment and surgical approaches so people with IBD are able to achieve better disease management and experience fewer complications than was thought possible even a decade ago,” Bruce Sherman, founder of the Sherman Prize, and a co-owner of Major League Baseball’s Miami Marlins, said in a press release. “I look forward to seeing what these outstanding physician scientists continue to accomplish in their own careers, as well as in those they mentor, in their pursuit of solving some of the most intractable problems of IBD.”

David T. Rubin, MD
David T. Rubin

The Sherman Prizes will be presented at Advances in IBD 2018 in Orlando.

“One of the most important attributes that this year’s Sherman Prize recipients share is their leadership in building bridges with colleagues across the fields of medicine, biology, technology and information systems to foster scientific breakthroughs that lead to more effective treatment and a better quality of life for people with IBD,” David T. Rubin, MD, Sherman Prize Selection Committee Chair and chief of the Section of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition at The University of Chicago Medicine, said in the release.