Ulcerative Colitis Resource Center

Ulcerative Colitis Resource Center

March 06, 2018
1 min read

Sherman Prize accepting 2018 nominations for IBD leaders

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

Stephen R. Targan, MD
Stephen R. Targan

Online nominations are now open for the third annual Sherman Prize for Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis.

The prize, awarded by the Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation, is awarded to individuals who make “exceptional and pioneering contributions and inspire tomorrow’s innovators in the fight to overcome” inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), according to a press release.

A total of $225,000 is awarded, including two $100,000 prizes and a $25,000 emerging leader prize.

In 2017, the $100,000 prizes were awarded to Stephan R. Targan, MD, director of the Inflammatory Bowel and Immunobiology Research Institute at Cedars Sinai — whom we interviewed last year — and Lee A. Denson, MD, director of the Schubert-Martin IBD Center at the Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center. Heidi Drescher, MMS, PA-C, from the Community Medical Center was awarded the $25,000 prize.

David Rubin
David Rubin

“The Sherman Prize elevates IBD champions across the country, who are working tirelessly to solve the puzzles of these diseases,” David Rubin, MD, Sherman Prize Selection Committee Chair and professor of medicine and chief of the section of gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition at The University of Chicago Medicine said in the press release. “The Prize Selection Committee looks forward to reviewing many wonderful nominations this year and ultimately recognizing and celebrating the great work being done at the intersection of patient care, research, education and advocacy.”

Candidates must live and work in the United States and must have accomplished “their greatest work” in the last 10 years. Nominations are open through April 15, 2018.

Update: HMP announced the Sherman Prize Awards will be presented live at the Advances in Inflammatory Bowel Diseases conference in Orlando, Fla., on Dec. 13, and the deadline for nominations has been extended to April 25.

Reference: http://www.ShermanPrize.org

Editor's note: This article was updated on April 11 with additional information.