Ulcerative Colitis Resource Center
Ulcerative Colitis Resource Center
March 10, 2017
1 min read

Sherman Prize now accepting nominations for achievements in IBD

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation announced that the online nomination period has begun for the second annual Sherman Prize for Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis.

The prize honors health care providers, researchers, advocates and educators who make extraordinary contributions in the fight against Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis, and will award $225,000 this year to help fund the winners’ work, including two $100,000 prizes and a $25,000 emerging leader prize.

David Rubin, MD

David Rubin

“Identifying, honoring, and supporting the innovators who have devoted their careers to helping those who suffer from Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis is critically important,” David Rubin, MD, Sherman Prize Selection Committee Chair and chief of the section of gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition at The University of Chicago Medicine, said in a press release. “Doing so elevates their work and inspires others to excel, which is why the Sherman Prize is so meaningful and such a tremendous service to the IBD community.”

Last year’s winners from University of Pennsylvania, University of Pittsburgh and New York University were honored for their achievements in building a national IBD research exchange platform, advancing research in the link between diet, IBD and the gut microbiome, developing psychosocial care models and providing care to underserved communities.

“Last year, Cynthia and I had the honor of launching the Sherman Prize and recognizing three inspiring practitioners whose work is transforming the care of people with IBD,” Bruce Sherman said in the press release. “This year, we look forward to recognizing the next change agents in the fight to overcome Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. By continuing to reward exceptional work through the Sherman Prize, we hope to create a ripple effect that inspires excellence as successes spread from community to community.”

Nominations by colleagues, peers, advocates or educators will be accepted through April 2017, and the Sherman Prize Board of Directors will select the winners with support from six IBD scholars, clinicians and advocates on the Sherman Prize Selection Committee. The winners will be announced this summer.