April 11, 2016
2 min read

Sherman Prize in Crohn’s, colitis accepting nominations

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

The Bruce and Cynthia Sherman Charitable Foundation has announced it will soon begin accepting online nominations for the new annual Sherman Prize for Excellence in Crohn’s and Colitis, according to a press release.

The prize will recognize health care professionals, medical researchers, public health advocates and educators who make extraordinary contributions to the field of Crohn’s and colitis, and will award more than $225,000 this year to help fund the winners’ work.

“We’ve seen firsthand how Crohn’s disease can wreak physical and emotional havoc on those suffering from the disease, as well as their family and friends, who wish they could do more to ease the burdens of their loved ones,” Bruce Sherman said in the press release. “Over the years, we’ve had the opportunity to meet truly inspirational people in the Crohn’s community — from compassionate practitioners driving advances in care and treatment, to advocates providing amazing support. Now we have a chance to give back, and we hope that by recognizing and rewarding outstanding work on Crohn’s and colitis, we can inspire greater advances that will help us to better understand, treat, and, ultimately, cure these terrible diseases.”

Each year two or more prizes of $100,000 will be awarded, and in addition, a $25,000 Sherman Emerging Leader Prize will be awarded to an individual who shows high potential in the field. The Sherman Prize Board of Directors will select the winners with support from six Crohn’s and colitis scholars, clinicians and advocates on the Sherman Prize Selection Committee, according to the press release. Nominees, who must live and work in the U.S., will be evaluated based on the quality and impact of their work and contributions within the last 10 years.

David Rubin

“By recognizing excellent work on Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis and rewarding these achievements, the Sherman Prize may inspire others who are working to improve the care of people with these diseases,” David Rubin, MD, chief of the section of gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition and co-director of the Digestive Diseases Center at University of Chicago Medical Center, and Healio Gastroenterology Peer Perspective Board member, said in the press release. “I’m honored to serve on the inaugural Sherman Prize Selection Committee and look forward to reviewing an exceptional roster of nominees who are making a positive impact on those living with Crohn’s and colitis.”

Nominations will be accepted through May 31, finalists will be selected in the summer, and winners will be announced in the fall. “The prize program will coordinate with winners to ensure they can effectively invest the award in their work to have the greatest impact,” according to the press release.



Editor's Note: This article was updated on April 11 to correct the nomination period.