American Academy of Dermatology Meeting
American Academy of Dermatology Meeting
March 30, 2017
1 min read

AAD elects vice president-elect, board members

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact

The American Academy of Dermatology announced the results of its annual election, including Jane M. Grant-Kels, MD, FAAD, as vice president-elect and four new board members.

Grant-Kels is a professor of dermatology, pathology and pediatrics; vice chair of the department of dermatology; director of the cutaneous oncology center and melanoma program; and founding chair emeritus of the dermatology department, dermatology residency program and dermatopathology lab at UConn Health in Farmington, Connecticut. She is a member of the AAD board of directors and is past president of the Connecticut Dermatology and Dermatologic Surgery Society, according to an AAD press release.

Jane Grant-Kels
Jane M. Grant-Kels

Grant-Kels will be installed as vice president-elect in February 2018, and her 1-year term as vice president will begin March 2019.

The following board members were elected and will each serve a 4-year term that begins at the conclusion of the 2018 AAD annual meeting in February, according to the release:

Diane S. Bearson, MD, FAAD, is an associate clinical professor in the department of dermatology at Weill Cornell Medical College in New York and assistant attending dermatologist at New York-Presbyterian Hospital. She is a past president of the Women’s Dermatologic Society.

Seemal R. Desai, MD, FAAD, is in private practice and is an assistant professor in the dermatology department at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. He is secretary/treasurer of the Skin of Color Society and president-elect of the Texas Dermatologic Society.

Scott M. Dinehart, MD, FAAD, is in private practice in Arkansas. He is past president of the Arkansas Dermatological Society.

Abby S. Van Vooorhees, MD, FAAD, is a professor and chair of dermatology at Eastern Virginia Medical School in Norfolk, Virginia. She is the physician editor of Dermatology World and is chair of the National Psoriasis Foundation Medical Board.

The election period took place March 4 to 18, including the time of the AAD annual meeting in Orlando, Florida, according to an AAD spokesperson.