October 21, 2013
1 min read

Vice president, board members elected at ASDS meeting

You've successfully added to your alerts. You will receive an email when new content is published.

Click Here to Manage Email Alerts

We were unable to process your request. Please try again later. If you continue to have this issue please contact customerservice@slackinc.com.

CHICAGO — Naomi Lawrence, MD, was elected vice president of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery at its annual meeting.

Lawrence, a professor of clinical medicine and head of the division of dermatology section of procedural dermatology at Cooper University Health Care in New Jersey, is scheduled to become ASDS president-elect in 2014 and president in 2015. Also elected were three board members and a secretary.

Naomi Lawrence, MD 

Naomi Lawrence

Diane S. Berson, MD, associate clinical professor of dermatology at Weil Cornell Medical College of Cornell University, Leonard H. Goldberg, MD, FRCP, clinical professor of dermatology at the University of Texas Medical School at Houston, and Adam M. Rotunda, MD, assistant clinical professor of dermatology at the David Geffen School of Medicine (UCLA), were elected to 3-year terms on the board of directors.

“The ASDS and the ASDS Association must continue to play the crucial role in our branding dermatologic, cosmetic and Mohs surgeons, and we need to continue to support these efforts,” Goldberg said in a news release. “We must define our identity in a way that the public can understand and strengthen our bond with our patients.”

Murad Alam, MD, associate professor of dermatology, otolaryngology and surgery at Northwestern University, was elected secretary.

Mitchel P. Goldman, MD 

Mitchel P. Goldman

The new members join Mitchel P. Goldman, MD, ASDS president, and George J. Hruza, MD, ASDS president-elect, who began their 1-year terms at the annual meeting. Goldman is a clinical professor in the department of dermatology at the University of California, San Diego. Hruza is a clinical professor of dermatology and otolaryngology at St. Louis University.