About the Editor

David F. Chang, MD

David F. Chang, MD is a Summa Cum Laude graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School. He completed his ophthalmology residency at the University of California, San Francisco where he is now a clinical professor. Having chaired the ASCRS Cataract Clinical Committee, Dr. Chang joined the ASCRS Executive Committee in 2009, serving as president in 2012. He is also chairman of the AAO Cataract Preferred Practice Pattern Panel, immediate past chair of the AAO Practicing Ophthalmologist Curriculum Panel for Cataract/Anterior Segment, and in 2009 completed his 5 year term as chair of the AAO Annual Meeting program committee. Dr. Chang is a board member of the ASCRS Foundation and serves on the medical advisory board of two global humanitarian organizations (Himalayan Cataract Project and Project Vision). He is also an adjunct clinical professor of ophthalmology at the Chinese University in Hong Kong, and honorary professor for the Zhongshan Ophthalmic Center of Sun Yat-Sen University in China.

In 2006, Dr. Chang became only the third ophthalmologist to ever receive the Charlotte Baer Award honoring the outstanding clinical faculty member at the UCSF Medical School. He has received the highest honor for cataract surgery from the ASCRS (Binkhorst Medal), the AAO (Kelman Lecture), the Asia Pacific Association of Cataract & Refractive Surgery (Lim Medal), the United Kingdom and Ireland Society of Cataract & Refractive Surgery (Rayner Medal), the Canadian Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (Award of Excellence/Stein Lecture), the Indian Intraocular Implant & Refractive Society (Gold Medal), the Italian Ophthalmological Society (Strampelli Medal), and the Royal Australia and the New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (Gregg Medal). He has given the Keynote Lecture for the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Annual Meeting.

Dr. Chang has been selected to deliver the following additional named lectures: Transamerica Lecture (UCSF), Wolfe Lecture (University of Iowa), DeVoe Lecture (Columbia-Harkness), Gettes Lecture (Wills Eye Hospital), Helen Keller Lecture (University of Alabama), Williams Lecture (UCSF), Kayes Lecture (University of Washington, St. Louis), Thorpe Lecture (Pittsburgh Ophthalmology Society), Schutz Lecture (New York University Medical Center), Wallace-Evan Lecture (Casey Eye, Oregon), Kambara Lecture (Loma Linda), Boyaner Lecture (McGill), Herbert Lecture (UC Irvine), Rodriguez Lecture (Univ Arizona), Jules Stein Lecture (UCLA-Jules Stein), Paton Medal Lecture (Baylor/Cullen Eye), and the Proctor Lecture (UCSF/Proctor Foundation). In addition to the AAO Achievement and Senior Achievement awards, Dr. Chang is also a six-time AAO Secretariat Award recipient. He was the inaugural recipient of the UCSF Department of Ophthalmology’s Distinguished Alumni Award (2005).

Dr. Chang is the chief medical editor of EyeWorld, associate international editor for the Asia-Pacific Journal of Ophthalmology, and served for 5 years as co-chief medical editor for Cataract and Refractive Surgery Today. He was the textbook editor of Cataract Surgery Today (CRST 2009), Mastering Refractive IOLs – the Art and Science (Slack 2008) and Curbside Consultation in Cataract Surgery (Slack 2007), the series editor for the 8 Slack Curbside Consultation Ophthalmology textbooks, and the principal author of Phaco Chop (Slack 2004).