AJRR announces board of directors

The American Joint Replacement Registry recently announced the addition of Douglas E. Padgett, MD, as an American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons representative, and Yvonne Bokelman, as an AdvaMed representative, to its 2016 board of directors. The group also announced the addition of Blair Fraser to the executive committee as an AdvaMed representative.

Responsible for governing the American Joint Replacement Registry (AJRR), the board of directors makes policy decisions and oversees operations pertaining to the U.S.-based registry for hip and knee arthroplasty, according to a press release. The board is a multi-stakeholder group comprised of members that represent the AJRR, American Academy of Orthopedic Surgeons (AAOS), the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons (AAHKS), The Hip Society, The Knee Society, industry, payers and the public.

According to the press release, returning members include the following:

  • Daniel J. Berry, MD, chair, The Hip Society;
  • Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA, vice chair, AJRR representative;
  • David E. Mino, MD, MBA, secretary treasurer, payer representative;
  • Blair Fraser, AdvaMed representative;
  • Michael R. Dayton, MD, AAOS representative;
  • Craig J. Della Valle, MD, The Knee Society representative;
  • Robert L. Krebbs, payer representative;
  • Gregory B. Krivchenia II, MD, AAOS representative;
  • Kristen Murtos, MBA, American Hospital Association representative;
  • Brian S. Parsely, MD, AAHKS representative;
  • Scott M. Sporer, MD, AAOS representative;
  • Bryan D. Springer, MD, AAHKS representative;
  • Jeffrey P. Knezovich, CAE, executive director, ex-officio; and
  • David G. Lewallen, MD, medical director, ex-officio.

“The board of directors provides an excellent balance between the different parties interested in our registry data,” Jeffrey P. Knezovich, executive director of AJRR, said in the press release. “Without the guidance and perspective of diverse stakeholders, our organization would not be nearly as strong. Our new board members will be a great help in carrying out the best interests of both their specific organization and the AJRR.”